Dec 18, 2023News0 comments

The Vavuniya District Branch of the Sri Lanka Scout Association was revived on Tuesday 12th December 2023 after being defunct for a few years with a General Meeting presided over by Mr. T. Thireskumar, Addl. GA representing the GA who is the ex-officio President of the branch Association at the Conference Hall of the District Secretariat.

The Chief Scout Commissioner Attorney at Law Mr. Janaprith Fernando, Deputy Chief Scout Commissioner Mr. M.F.S. Muheed, Asst. Chief Scout Commissioner Mr. Amithan Karmegam and Headquarters Scout Commissioner Mr. Abdul Mawahib graced the occasion from National Scout Headquarters.

Mr. A. Logeshwaran, Committee Chairman of Branch Association delivered the Welcome Address.
The Addl. GA who was presiding gave a historical account of the Scout Movement and the benefits young people would receive.

Mr. Muheed Deputy CC explained the current situation faced by the Scout District and he was able to communicate with all District officials and leaders and was able to have this meeting. He also explained the responsibilities of the Uniformed officials and the lay members and requested everyone to work together and restore the district activities.

Chief Commissioner Mr. Janaprith Fernando in his address said that young people have to be trained to be of good character without getting involved in other activities detrimental to society.
He also said about the large number of scouts who have enrolled and passed through this movement and remains the largest youth movement in the world.
The following Office Bearers were elected unanimously
Mr. P.A. Sarath Chandra, GA, Ex-officio

Committee Chairman:
Mr.M. Jeyaruban,
Deputy Director of Education, Vavuniya North Zone.

Vice Chairman:
Mr. R. Thamilazhan,
Principal V/Nelukulam Kalaimahal MV.

Mr. R. Veerasinga
Deputy Director of Education, Vavuniya South Zone.

Asst. Secretary:
Mr. A. Muraleetharan
V/Poovarasankulam MV

Mr. A. Logeshwaran
Principal V/ Vavuniya Tamil MMV.

Badge Secretary:
Mr. P. Paranthaman
V/Rasenthirakilam GTMS.

Committee members:
Messrs. V. Piratheepan, S. Kandeepan, V. Sageefnath, Mrs. A. Priyatharsini, K. Mayuran, F. Kerson, R. Sriranganathan, Mrs. M. Sutharsini.

It was also unanimously decided to nominate Mr. Y. Gajendran Management Service officer of Divisional Secretariat, Vengalacheddikulam as the District Commissioner.

The meeting ended with a vote of Thanks by the Asst. Secretary and a Group Photograph.


Latest News



The highest achievement for a scout is the President's Scout Award. A number of requirements have to be completed to qualify for the Award. 225 scouts from all parts of Sri Lanka received the President's Scout Award certificates from the Governor of Southern Province...