The national Scout Awards Ceremony of the Sri Lanka Scout Association was a very colourful event held on Sunday 17 July 2022 at the Goldi Sands Hotel in Negombo. These Awards were presented to the adult Leaders who have served the Scout Movement and performed yeoman services.
450 Awardees from all parts of Sri Lanka presented themselves at the venue and received their Awards at this glittering ceremony.

The event became more prestigious with the presence of International Leaders of the Scout Movement who had braved their way to be in Sri Lanka to receive Awards to honour them for their services to the movement.
Attorney at Law . Janaprith Fernando the Chief Scout Commissioner delivered the Opening Address and explained the part played by the Sri Lanka Scout Association during difficult times in the country to keep scouting alive.
He thanked the International Leaders who came all the way to Sri Lanka to receive the Awards despite the difficulties.
The Awards were presented in 3 segments by three Special Invitees.

They were Md. Reyad Hossain Counsellor representing His Excellency Md. Tareq Ariful Islam, High Commissioner for Bangladesh in Sri Lanka, His Excellency Tan Yang Thai, High Commissioner for Malaysia in Sri Lanka, His Excellency Poj Harnpol, Ambassador for Royal kingdom of Thailand.

The President of Sri Lanka Scout Council Mr. Srinath Gooneratne in his address appreciated the presence of all awardees including the dignitaries from foreign countries. Mr. J.R. Pangilinan the Asia Pacific Regional Director of the World Organisation of the scout movement was presented with the silver Lion Award.

Chief Commissioner of Sri Lanka Scout Association was also recognized with the Silver Lion Award.

The International Friendship Award was presented to four other foreign dignitaries.
Mr. Mohamed Ali Khalid Addl. National Chief Commissioner of Bharat Scouts and Guides of India, Mr. Abdullah Rasheed Secretary Gen. Of South Asian Association of National Scout Organisations, Dr. Mukyuddin Bin Sarwani Deputy Chief Commissioner Of Malaysia, Mr. Ramasamy Rajalingam Member of Asia Pacific Scout Foundation Management Board.

Special Awards were
Presented to the Chief Commissioner Janaprith Fernando and Deputy Chief Commissioner M.F. S. Muheed by Mr. Mohamed Ali Khalid Addl . National Chief Commissioner of India in recognition of their services.

The Vote Of Thanks was Proposed by Mr. M.F.S. Muheed Deputy Chief Commissioner.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *