The Baden Powell Award Ceremony was held on on Day 3 of the Rover Scout Moot 25 April 2021 in Pallekelle  Kandy the host district. The event is being held virtually and physically in different locations. Chief Guest at the  ceremony was Chief Commissioner Major Gen. Milinda Peiris. Welcome Address was delivered by Mr. W.D. Weerasinghe DC of Kandy and also Asst. Moot Organizing Commissioner.

Chief Commissioner presented the BP Awards to those who were present at the ceremonyout of the 20 Award Winners for the  year. The Awardees renewed the Scout Promise and then received the Awards. The Tisara Padma Prasad Pranama Awards were presented to  those who dedicated and supported Rover scouting including the Chief Commissioner and Deputy Chief Commissioner. Mr. Srilath de Silva ACC Rovers and IT and Moot Organizing Commissioner detailed out the working of the Rover moot where 1000 Rovers had registered and always there 700 to 800 seen participating virtually. Rover Scouts. From 14 countries too had joined.

Chief Commissioner in his address gave valuable advise to the BP Awardees and said that they should be Ambassadors of Scouting with skills they have learned in order to strengthen the scout membership He further stated  that Rover Scouts should explore themselves and learn how to face challenges and  see what they can do for the country. Deputy Chief Commissioner and World Scout Committee Member  Mr. Janaprith Fernando, Mr. Sarath Matararachchi National Program Commissioner also addressed the gathering. Hon. Sarath Ekanayake former Governor and Chief Minister and President of Kandy District Local Association  was among the distinguished personalities. Mr. Kapila Priyantha HQC and Moot Secretary proposed the Vote of Thanks. Special word of thanks was expressed to the Moot Coordinator Saliya Dahanayake and his team for the organization of the Moot.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *