Mr. Janaprith Fernando, Attorney at Law assumed duties as the 21st Chief Commissioner of the Sri Lanka Scout Association today (01-10-2021).

He started his scouting career at the age of 11 as a scout of St. Thomas’s Prep. School at Kollupitiya and went on to win the President Scout Award in 1985 and later became a Scout Leader, Asst. District Commissioner and was appointed as District Commissioner in 2005 in the Colombo District. He is a wood badge qualified Scout Leader which is the graduation in Scouting.

In 2010 he was appointed as a Special Scout Commissioner at National Scout Headquarters and later became the International Scout Commissioner of Sri Lanka.  In 2016 he was elevated to the position of Deputy Chief Commissioner.

Due to his active service in Scouting, he was elected to the Asia Pacific Region Scout Committee in 2012.  He was elected to the World Scout Committee in 2017, a prestigious position and the first Sri Lankan to hold such a position and brought glory to his motherland.  He has been actively involved in all National Scout Events such as Jamborees and actively contributed to International Scouting and placed Sri Lanka in the highest possible position.

Speaking on the occasion he stressed the importance of the Scout Promise and Law to be adhered to by everyone in the movement and the instilling of Discipline.

He further requested for everyone to work as a team and have the patrol spirit.  He said the most important customer are the scouts and we are the to serve them.

He hopes to establish Community based scouting in Muslim Communities, Estate Sector, and villages.

He requested everyone to help in implementing the Strategic Plan by which we must achieve the goal of having a membership growth of 108,000 by the year2023.

Among the distinguished invitees present at the ceremony of his assuming duties were the Immediate Past Chief Commissioner Major Gen. Milinda Peiris, National Training Commissioner Mr. Nanda Fernando, International Commissioner Dr. Rajeeva Pieris, National Program Commissioner Mr. Sarath Mataraarachchi, and a host of Commissioners of National Headquarters, District and Council Members.