Gilwell Re-union 2017 in Batticoloa

Posted on July 10, 2017

Gilwell Re-union 2017 in Batticoloa


National Training Team of the    Sri Lanka Scout Association has organised its one of the most prestigious en=vents in their annual calendar “The Gilwell Re-Union 2017″ in Batticoloa, i.e. the “Land of Singing Fish” on 8th & 9th of July 2017 in a grand style with a gathering of more than 300 Gilwellions or the holders of the ‘Wood Badge” who came from all parts of the country. They were located at Methodist College, Batticoloa.


The theme of the program was “Promote: Religious Harmony, Respect: Human Dignity, Build: Brotherhood”


Mr Sarath Godakandaarachchi, L.T., the National Training Commissioner was in-charge of the whole program, assisted by the Trained Leaders in the Organisation.


During this event, a record breaking number of 114 Adult Leaders, received their Wood-Badges, the graduation in Scouting at the Batticoloa Town Council Auditorium. They had completed more than 2 years training under 5-phase training scheme in obtaining the Wood Badge.


There were several programs in the agenda such as sessions on Adult Training methods, Train of Trainer programs (TOT), Boat Rides, Visits and Exposure to important and historical places such as Batticoloa Lagoon, etc.


Apart from that, the new Website of Sri Lanka Scout Association, i.e ‘‘ was launched at the opening ceremony of the Gilwell reunion by the Chief Commissioner Professor Nimal De Silva in front of the massive gathering of Gilwellions. The Guests of Honour of the occasion were Mr. Ransiri Perera, Chairman of the Committee of the Council, Mr. Janaprith Fernando, Deputy Chief Commissioner, Mr. Sarath Godakandaarachchi, National Training Commissioner.


Mr. Srilath De Silva, Asst,Chief Commissioner (Finance & Rovers) and the Chairman of the IT & Web Committee was in-charge of the Web Project developed by Brainwave Solutions.


On the 9th of July, a Grand Farewell Party and a Cultural Program followed by a Fellowship was organised to facilitate the Chief Commissioner Prof.Nimal De Silva who will be completing his tenure of office of 5 years as ‘Chief Commissioner  in mid July 2017.


The Asst. Chief Commissioners Mr Kapila Kalyana Perera, Mr Sarath Matararachchi, Mrs. Wathsala Wijewickrema, Special Commissioners M/s. M.F.S.Muheed, M.E.S.Jayasinghe, Shiraz Salih, Nanda Corea, Prabath Kularatne (Media), and many other National Commissioners participated and rendered their services at this event.