Annual District Commissioners’ Conference 2017 in Kandy

Posted on October 7, 2017

Annual District Commissioners’ Conference 2017 in Kandy


Friday, October 6, 2017 to Saturday, October 7, 2017

at Suisse Hotel, Kandy, Sri Lanka



The District Commissioners’ Conference 2017 organized by the Sri Lanka Scout Association was held in Hotel Suisse, Kandy on 6th & 7th of October 2017. Hon. Chief Minister of the Central Province was the Chief Guest. The Key note Address was delivered by Dr. Chathuranga Keppetiyagama,



The conference was well attended by 27 District Commissioners from all parts of the island and several national commissioners from the Scout headquarters.



Three Outgoing District Commissioners Mr. Deepal Gnawardena (Kegalle), Mr. Pushpakumara Mahagammulage (Homagama) and Mr. Sanjaya Perera (Nawalapitiya) were felicitated at the ceremony with replicas appreciating their dedicated services during their tenure of 5 years as District Commissioners.



Mr. Kapila Kalyana Perera, Asst.Chief Commissioners (Management) organized the conference presided over by the Chief Commissioner Mr. Merrille Goonetilleke whereas the Mr. W.D. Weerasinghe, District Commissioner of Kandy and his team of commissioners and scouters hosted the conference in Kandy in a grand scale. Mr. Ransiri Perera, Chairman of the Executive Committee and several other National Commissioners attended.



Motive of the DC Conference:


This Workshop will be an opportunity for the District Commissioners


  1. to exchange new ideas and views for development of Scouting and review the existing program or events if necessary,


  1. to promote various events and programs at district level and national level and also to prepare annual itenary for the year 2018.


  1. to sort out difficulties or issues faced by the District Commissioners, and review the progress of each districts.





6-October 2017


01.00 p.m. – Registration


02.00 p.m. – Opening Ceremony


02.15 p.m.  – Address by President & Chairman of the Executive Committee, SLSA


02.45 p.m. – DC Conference declare open by Chief Commissioner


02.50 p.m. –  Key Note Address by Dr. Chathuranga, Keppetiyagama


03.30 p.m. – Photo session & Tea Break


04.45 p.m. – Guest :Lecture


05.55 p.m. – Success Stories by Out-going District Commissioners & recognition.


08.30 p.m. – Welcome Dinner & fellowship


7-October 2017


07.30 a.m. – Assembly/Reflection/Thought of the Day/Announcements


08.00 a.m. – Analysis of District progress


09.15 a.m. – Open forum


11.30 a.m. – Recommendations by District Commissioners


01.00 p.m. Closing Ceremony